Myanmar trip – Moulmein(1)

Changing money at airport

Good news: You can use master card to withdraw money from local ATM in Yangoon. Now KBZ and MOB banks supports for this method.

Another good news is now you can change USD/SGD to MMK at the airport. The exchange rate at the time I visited is 1USD = 952MMK. As many people suggested, it is good to change a little money at the airport. To grab good deal, one can find some shops in Aung San Market for better rate.

Phone and Sim card

I cannot find any SIM card 20$USD as expected, but this can be found in any other mobile shop in Yangoon. Instead there were  2 options at the airport

  • Rent phone with normal SIM card 50USD
  • Data SIM only : 60USD

Each has validation time 5 days. Higher price for longer days.

According to the staff there, the data SIM card can be used in various places across the country.

Overnight bus to Moulmein (Maulmyine)

DSC_0033

Arriving to Yangoon, I immediately look for bus at Aung Mingalar station. Since the flight is late afternoon, I know that I have to take the overnight bus to another city. As a friend suggested me, it would be wiser to visit Yangoon at the last day, because there are more attractions at other cities.

That was why I choose Moulmein as my first destination in Myanmar. My first experience: choose an aircon bus. Normally, non-aircon bus will be dirtier and more goods are placed inside the bus.

Already getting enough sleep from the airplane and bus trip, I open my laptop, do some research about Moulmein.

I just afraid of electric cut but it didn’t happened. I already had a list of places to go:

  • U Zina Paya
  • Kyaikthanlan Paya
  • Mahamuni (Bahaman) Paya
  • Shampoo Island
  • Cultural Museum
  • ….

There were so many pagodas to visit. There are some attractions worth to visit that can be visited within a day:

  • Death Railway
  • The Japanese Pagoda: 42mi
  • ThanbyuZayat: 40 mi away
  • Kyaikkami Yele pagoda: 88km

But the whole cost is 50000 Kyat. For a lonely travel like me, it was so expensive. Another cheaper plan was (only cost ~25000 MMK by taxi):

  • Declining Budda
  • Yoe-go village: 5mi from Moulmein.
  • Ta Yat Gone village: (2mi)

In fact, this was the day I took most of my photos.  I waited until 6am and gave a call to Cinderella Hotel. The staff didn’t response my call earlier probably because they were still sleeping.

I called a taxi (actually a bike) to bring me around the city before reaching the hotel.

Leave a Reply

