Ideas for Myanmar Project

Imagine that Myanmar is similar to your country 10 or 20 years ago. Not so many cell phones. Its economy just opens up. A lot of manpower in rural areas. Majority of population still depends on agriculture economy. What you can do to help people?

Facts I know about Myanmar:

  • ~60 million people
  • More than 100 languages, the main language is Burmese
  • ~90% population is Buddhist
  • the latest disaster Cyclone Nargis 2008
  • Literacy rate (15-24 years of age)   95.8%
  • Internet penetration rate                0.7 % (majority in major cities)

As a global citizen, I want to think out of my comfort zone. Any ideas are welcomed. You can leave your idea with your name or anonymous 🙂

Idea #1: Water bulb: use chrolophm to bring light to rural areas. This idea is actually implemented in the Philippines. Link: http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-build-a-SOLAR-BOTTLE-BULB/

One comment on “Ideas for Myanmar Project

  1. Trọng Đan says:

    Hot news: I will attend a volunteer at KT Care, a charity organisation at Rangoon, Myanmar. Assist in IT program in the organisation for 3 days. I am so excited about this. Though I know I cannot visit all the places as I planned, but as long as I am happy, I am willing to do it.

Leave a Reply

