Lessons from Terry Fox Run Singapore 2013

Singapore Terry Fox Run 2013Here are 5 lessons I learnt from Terry Fox Run Singapore 2013 today:
Know how to control speed
It is longer than usual. My typical workout was only 30 minutes and 3km long. It is because I usually run at midnight and I cannot run fast after a tiring working day.

Run for a cause
I feel the support for water and banana is so essential. No race bibs, no prizes, no goodie bags. That is the true meaning of running for a cause. I would memorize the life of Terry Fox, who run to raise funds for cancer research.
“Even if I don’t finish, we need others to continue. It’s got to keep going without me.” – Terry Fox

Life is a journey.
I cannot run 42 km marathon unless I run 21 km race.
And I cannot run 21km race if I don’t try to run 10km.
I proud that I did it today and it would be a stepping stone for 21 km race.
Not everyone was born with innate ability to run. Practice make things happen.

Pushing through limit.
On the second part of the race, I was nearly exhausted. I have to run slower. I have to keep my breath until the last 1 km of the race. Run for a long race required the maintenance of speed. At the last km, I ran as fast as I could to touch the finish line.

Find your mate to run together
Today I try to run to test my limit. I did it but it is somehow selfish.

“If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together”, from an African proverb.

One comment on “Lessons from Terry Fox Run Singapore 2013

  1. What’s up to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this blog; this
    blog carries remarkable and in fact excellent stuff designed for readers.

Leave a Reply

