Echelon 2011

Echelon 2011 will be a two-day, double-track event that happens in Singapore in June with an expected attendance of more than 1,000 delegates; a demo pit of more than 40 startups and companies; and workshops and fringe events.

Day 1

Echelo 2011

 

I visited some start-up company booths:

  • Roadhop: searching for bus stations,
  • Movend: meet Zi Yong and Tiang Lim Foo
  • Epsilon mobile: founded by Vo Hoang Hai
  • Fetch fans: location based targeting. analytics.
  • Playmoolah: no virtual money, with measurable goals. content provider.
  • Makit,Compath.me,Flightmedia,…

Meet with Toan, Jason, Trung Hieu and Quang Vinh. Great to meet these guys. Impressive with Notabasement. A Vietnamese branding start-up likely.

I have to confess that I am interested in many things. I attend CS3216 lecture of prof Ben Leoung. I always contemplate that people judge you based on what you do. I just regret that I didn’t have many free time in my school to pursue my real interest. I hate the rigid scheme NUS opts to my curriculum.

Come on, I need more free time to empower and prove myself. Whoever on Earth could imagine that now I studied connecting wire on breadboard and soldering, given the fact that half a month later I will start web programming.

Pissed off because of EE2001 schedule. I have to sacrify the whole morning session tmr to finish the lab. Hopefully can catch up with Echelon at 4pm. Can’t wait for the party bar @Clark Quay.

Day 2

Undoubtedly Playmoolah beats other startup and win the competition.

Parents pay a fee online to use PlayMoolah, which also offers a subscription service. These are the company’s two main revenue streams at present. The company raised an initial round of funding from undisclosed investors in December and is now looking more angel investors. It hopes to partner with banks and find developers, which says Lee, is a significant challenge. “You can’t just hire developers. They must understand our company’s vision and love what they do,” she says.

Unsurprisingly my boss is partner with Playmoolah. She also gave some thoughts in panel discussion of education. Remember that main users are children and teachers. Building content management is necessary but not the thing we wants first. Make a cool thing and people will love it anyway.

One more thing: the culture will represent you. It makes you unique and outstanding. At the end of the day, building my portfolio is the most essential thing.
Leave a Reply

